Photo

How to get a more detailed server description?

server description help custom launch parameters character limitation limited

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Derpito92

Derpito92

Gamer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 04 August 2017 - 04:36 PM

I am new to running Rust server and need some help.

The "custom launch parameters line" is limited to 256 characters I believe, but adding header image, seed number and seed size takes up most of that limit. How can I add a custom server description without having to worry about the 255 characters limit? I want to describe the server in more details. Is there like a file or something I can upload? Please guide me. Thanks in advance.

#2 Pat

Pat

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 05 August 2017 - 08:13 AM

Via FTP you can create a 'serverauto.cfg' in the /server/experimental/cfg/ directory.

In there you can set your description, seed, etc.

Each would have to be on it's own new line as so:

server.description 'My Awesome Rust Server'
server.headerimage 'http://imgur.com/somepng.png'
server.seed 1337
server.worldsize 2500

Staff

#3 Derpito92

Derpito92

Gamer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 06 August 2017 - 01:08 AM

Via FTP you can create a 'serverauto.cfg' in the /server/experimental/cfg/ directory.

In there you can set your description, seed, etc.

Each would have to be on it's own new line as so:

server.description 'My Awesome Rust Server'
server.headerimage 'http://imgur.com/somepng.png'
server.seed 1337
server.worldsize 2500